FANDOM


"Tu es humain. Il regrette que ce ne soit plus son cas."
―Edythe à Beau à propos de Royal[src]

Royal Hale, né en 1915, est un membre du Clan d'Olympic. Il est le mari d'Eleanor Cullen et le fils adoptif de Carine et Earnest Cullen, ainsi que le frère adoptif de Jessamine Hale (à Forks, ils font semblant d'être des jumeaux), Archie et Edythe Cullen, et Beau Swan.

En 1933, le Royal a été transformé en vampire par Carine Cullen après avoir été battu au bord de la mort par l'amant secret de sa fiancée. Deux ans plus tard, Royal a sauvé une jeune femme nommée Eleanor qui avait été attaqué par un ours, et après qu'elle soit transformé en vampire, les deux sont tombé profondément amoureux. Avec Eleanor, Royal est un membre à part entière de la famille Cullen et se bat ardemment contre ceux qui menacent leur clan.

Dans la saga Twilight, son homologue est Rosalie Hale.

Biographie Modifier

Jeunesse Modifier

"Il parla de sa vie entièrement dévouée à la vanité, au matérialisme, à l'ambition. Il avait rencontré la fille unique d'un homme extrêmement puissant—le jeune garçon n'avait pas vraiment saisi quel type de pouvoir ce père exerçait—et avait envisagé de l'épouser afin de devenir héritier de cette dynastie. La fille, belle, avait fait semblant de l'aimer afin de satisfaire aux exigences de son père, puis avait assisté, hilare, au tabassage jusqu'à ce que la mort s'ensuive de son prétendant par son amant, membre d'un clan mafieux rival. Royal s'était vengé. Il fut le plus brutal dans le choix de ses mots, ne cacha pas sa peine d'avoir perdu ceux qu'il aimait, soutient que rien de tout ce qu'il avait désormais ne la compensait."
―Beau, à propos de Royal[src]

Royal Hale est né en 1915, il avait deux sœurs plus jeunes, une femme au foyer pour mère, et son père travaillait dans une banque. Sa vie était dévouée à la vanité, au matérialisme, à l'ambition. Royal s'était fiancé à la seule fille d'un homme puissant. Il avait prévu d'épouser la jeune fille et de devenir l'héritier de cette dynastie. La jeune fille fit semblant de l'aimer pour faire plaisir à son père. Cependant, ses rêves ont pris fin quand sa fiancée et son petit ami secret appartenant à un clan mafieux rival l'ont brutalement battus, près de la mort. Sa fiancée était là et riait de tout son être. Royal fut retrouvé plus tard par Carine, l'odeur du sang l'avait conduit au jeune homme mourant. Pour le sauver, elle l'a transformé en vampire. Royal pris bientôt sa revanche, et est contrecœur resté avec les Cullen. Carine avait espéré que Royal et Edythe deviennent compagnons comme elle et Earnest, mais Edythe a seulement aimé Royal comme un frère. Royal a terriblement manqué à sa famille.

Deux ans après sa transformation, en 1935, Royal est tombé sur une jeune femme nommée Eleanor qui s'était fait attaqué par un ours. Royal l'a porté sur plus de cent miles jusqu'à Carine, qui l'a alors transformé en vampire à la demande de Royal. Eleanor a accepté son nouveau statut, et est devenu la compagne de Royal. Ils se sont rarement séparés après cela; les deux ayant trouvé dans l'autre leur véritable âme sœur. La paire se marierait souvent et parfois vivaient séparés du reste de leur famille d'adoption afin de vivre comme un couple de jeunes mariés. En 1937, alors qu'il vivait à Forks, ils ont été découverts par la meute de modificateurs. Pour sécuriser les deux côtés, les Cullen et la meute ont fait un traité : ils ne doivent pas attaquer ou révéler la nature des Cullen à moins qu'ils ne mordent un être humain ou si ils croisent les terres traditionnelles Quileute. Ils se sont éloignés quelque temps après l'accord est été conclu.

En 1950, la famille a accueilli deux nouveaux membres, Archie Cullen et Jessamine Hale. En raison de leurs caractéristiques similaires, Royal et Jessamine ont souvent jouer le rôle de frères et sœurs biologiques, en se faisant passé pour des jumeaux. Au fil des années, Royal a étudié dans plusieurs lycées et universités, et gagna de nombreux diplômes.

À la vie, à la mort : Twilight réinventé Modifier

Royal a déménager à Forks avec sa famille deux ans avant le début de À la vie, à la mort : Twilight réinventé . Il est furieux quand Edythe sauve Beau Swan qui failli se faire écraser par une voiture.

Lorsque Edythe et Beau ont commencés une relation amoureuse, Royal est le plus contrarié par la situation et l'ignore à tout prix, et s'absente lorsque Beau vient rencontrer sa famille. Tout en jouant au baseball avec Beau qui les regardaient, le clan de Joss est apparu. Lorsque la convoitise de Joss pour les jeux mortels a mit en danger la vie de Beau, tout le monde a fait son possible pour le protéger, mais Royal a riposté jusqu'à que Carine et Edythe aient réussis à le convaincre.

Après que Joss est été détruite, Beau a été inopinément transformé et a rejoint sa famille. Comme avant, Royal l'a ignoré, mais ne s'est pas opposé à lui quand il les a rejoins. Il a aussi raconté son histoire à Beau, pour être irrité par Edythe.

Apparence Modifier

"Le plus imposant—largement lus grand que moi pour le coup, je lui donnais un bon mètre quatre-vingt-quinze—était certainement l'athlète phare du lycée. Le roi du bal. Le costaud qui avait la priorité à la salle de muscu quand il s'agissait de choisir sa machine. Sa crinière blonde était nouée en chignon à l'arrière de sa tête, sans rien de féminin cependant. ca ajoutait même à sa viribilité. il m'apparut évident qu'il était bien top cool pour l'établissement de Forks...pour n'importe quel autre d'ailleurs."
―Beau, à propos de Earnest[src]

Royal est facilement interprété comme étant l'athlète phare du lycée puisqu'il est incroyablement magnifique, même pour un vampire. Cela est dû à sa bonne apparence naturelle quand il était humain. Comme Royal était déjà beau comme un dieu étant humain, la transformation seulement amélioré son physique, ce qui le rendait beaucoup plus attrayant que la plupart des vampires. Il a une silhouette élégante semblable à un modèle masculin, avec des cheveux d'or noués en un chignon derrière la tête qui convient parfaitement aux yeux d'or/noir qu'il partage avec le reste des Cullen. Comme tous les vampires, il brille comme comme si des milliers de diamants étaient intégrés dans sa peau lorsqu'elle est exposée à la lumière du soleil.

Personnalité Modifier

Royal est décrit comme narcissique et égocentrique, mais aussi fidèle envers ceux dont il se soucie. Il était aussi ambitieux quand il était humain, puisqu'il rêvait de devenir l'héritier d'un homme puissant. Edythe mentionne que Royal a apporté sa ténacité, ou «son entêtement», quand il s'est transformé.

Royal lutte contre son existence entant que vampire. Il n'a jamais eu plus que perdre sa famille, et son point de vue, rien ne valait la peine de les perdre avec son humanité.

Apparitions Modifier

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

Sur le réseau FANDOM

Wiki au hasard

Twilight Saga Wiki

Royal Hale

1,078pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Add New Page Comments0
"You're human. He wishes he were, too."
―Edythe to Beau about Royal[src]

Royal Hale, born in 1915, is a member of the Olympic coven. He is the husband of Eleanor Cullen and the adoptive son of Carine and Earnest Cullen, as well as the adoptive brother of Jessamine Hale (in Forks, they pretend to be twins), Archie, and Edythe Cullen, and Beau Swan.

In 1933, Royal was turned into a vampire by Carine Cullen after being beaten to the brink of death by his fiancée's secret lover. Two years later, Royal rescued a young woman named Eleanor from being mauled by a bear, and after turning her into a vampire, the two fell very deeply in love. Along with Eleanor, Royal is an integral member of the Cullen family and fights eagerly against those who threaten their coven. His Twilight Saga counterpart is Rosalie Hale.


Early lifeEdit

"He told me about a life consumed with vanity, with material things, with ambition. He told me about the only daughter of a powerful man—exactly what kind of power this man wielded, Royal hadn't entirely understood—and how Royal had planned to marry her and become heir to the dynasty. How the beautiful daughter pretended to love him to please her father, and then how she had watched when her lover from a rival criminal syndicate had Royal beaten to death, how she'd laughed aloud the whole time. He told me about the revenge he'd gotten… He told me about losing his family, and how none of this was worth what he'd lost."
―Beau, on Royal[src]

Royal Hale was born in 1915; he had two younger sisters, a housewife for a mother, and his father worked at a bank. His life was consumed with vanity, material objects and ambition. Royal was engaged to the sole daughter of a powerful man. He planned to marry the girl and become the heir to that dynasty. The girl feigned affection to please her father. However, his dreams came to an end when his fiancée and her secret boyfriend from a rival criminal syndicate brutally beat Royal near death. His fiancée stood there, laughing the whole time. Royal was later found by Carine, the scent of blood having led her to the dying young man. To save him, she turned him into a vampire. Royal soon got his revenge, and begrudgingly stayed with the Cullens. Carine had intended for Edythe and Royal to become like she and Earnest were, but Edythe only loved Royal as a brother. Royal missed his family terribly, and eventually outlived them all.

Two years after her transformation, in 1935, Royal stumbled across a young woman named Eleanor being mauled by a bear. Royal carried her over one hundred miles back to Carine, who then turned her into a vampire at Royal's request. Eleanor accepted her new status quite well, and became Royal's mate. They rarely separated after this; the two having found in the other their true soul mate. The pair would marry often and sometimes lived separate from the rest of their adopted family so as to live as a newlywed couple. In 1937, while living in Forks, they were discovered by a pack of shape-shifters. To secure both sides, the Cullens and the pack made a treaty: they shall not attack or expose the Cullens unless they bite a human or cross over to the Quileute traditional lands. They moved away sometime after the agreement was made.

By 1950, the family welcomed two new additions, Archie Cullen and Jessamine Hale. Due to their similar features, Royal and Jessamine would often play the role of biological siblings, even twins. Over the years, Royal has attended several high schools and universities, and earned many degrees.

Life and Death: Twilight ReimaginedEdit

Main article: Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined
"What is he to me?"
―Royal to Edythe on Beau[src]

Royal moves to Forks with his family two years prior to the beginning of Life and Death. He is furious when Edythe saves Beau Swan from being crushed by a car and accidentally gives their secret away.

When Edythe and Beau begin a romantic relationship, Royal is the most upset with the situation and ignores them at all costs, and even stays absent when Beau comes to meet his family. While playing baseball with Beau watching, Joss's coven appears. When Joss's lust for deadly games endangers Beau's life, everyone works hard to protect him, but Royal retorts until Carine and Edythe convince him to help.

After Joss was destroyed, Beau was unexpectedly transformed and joins their family. Like before, Royal ignores him, but doesn't object to him joining them. He also tells Beau his life story, only to be angered by Edythe.

Physical appearanceEdit

"The taller one—who was definitely taller than me, I'd guess six-five or even more—was clearly the school's star athlete. And the prom king. And the guy who always had dibs on whatever equipment he wanted in the weight room. His straight gold hair was wound into a bun on the back of his head, but there was nothing feminine about it—somehow it made him look even more like a man. He was clearly too cool for this school, or any other I could imagine."
―Beau, on Royal[src]

Royal is easily interpreted star athlete in school, as he is astoundingly gorgeous, even for a vampire. This is due to his natural good-looks as a human. Because Royal was already god-like handsome as a human, the transformation only enhanced his physique, making him many times more attractive than most vampires. He has an elegant figure similar to a male model's, with golden hair worn in a bun behind his head that perfectly suits the golden/black eyes that he shares with the rest of the Cullens. Like all vampires, he sparkles as if thousands of diamonds were embedded in his skin when exposed to sunlight.

Personality and traitsEdit

Royal is described as narcissistic and self-centered, but also loyal to those he cares about. He was also ambitious as a human, dreaming of becoming heir to a powerful man and rule the dynasty. Edythe mentions that Royal brought his tenacity, or "pig-headedness", when he transformed.

Royal struggles being a vampire the most. He never got over losing his family, and in his point of view, nothing was worth losing them along with his humanity.


Royal is the husband of Eleanor Cullen, as well as the adoptive son of Carine and Earnest Cullen. He is also the adoptive brother of Jessamine Hale Edythe, and Archie Cullen, and Beau Swan.

Eleanor CullenEdit

Eleanor Cullen is Royal's wife. Royal saved her from a bear that just about mauled her to death and, despite the extreme effort this cost him, carried her 100 miles to his home, for Carine to change her, because he didn't think he could do it himself. The two then fell in love with each other. They have gotten married several times over the decades.

Jessamine HaleEdit

Jessamine Hale is Royal's adoptive sister, and uses his last name to ease the confusion they cause the people around them about their relationships to Eleanor and Archie Cullen.

Due to their physical similarities, Royal and Jessamine pretend to be fraternal twins who have been adopted by Carine and Earnest Cullen while attending high school in Forks. They also tend to fake biological relations for said reason when they move.

Carine CullenEdit

Carine Cullen is Royal's adoptive mother as well as creator. She turned him into a vampire in 1933 to save him from the fatal injuries inflicted by his fiancée's secret boyfriend, who beat him to death while his fiancée watched. Royal resents being a vampire, as he treasures humanity and often wishes he was still human. He only reluctantly joined the family because he didn't want to be alone. As time passed, however, he came to love and respect her as a mother, especially after she changed his wife, Eleanor at his request.

Earnest CullenEdit

Earnest Cullen is Royal's adoptive father. They love each other deeply and are very protective of each other.

Earnest had hoped that Royal would become Edythe's mate, but even though that plan did not work out, they came to love and respect each other.

Archie CullenEdit

Archie Cullen is Royal's adoptive brother and brother-in-law. Archie is married to Royal's adoptive sister Jessamine Hale. They both are close like real brothers and have a very strong bond, partially due to their shared liking for fashion.

Edythe CullenEdit

Edythe Cullen is Royal's adoptive sister. When Carine changed Royal into a vampire, part of the reason was that she was hoping he would become a romantic companion for Edythe. But Edythe and Royal's relationship never advanced beyond that of siblings, and not always on good terms.

Beau SwanEdit

"What is he to me?"

Beau Swan is Royal's newest adoptive brother. Their relationship is in a rather rocky situation due to Royal's jealousy of Beau's humanity; Royal constantly wishes to be human again. While Royal is constantly annoyed by his brother's presence, he doesn't actually hate him.

When Beau became a vampire, Royal told him about his human life, and explained how losing it had cost him his family.


Also on Fandom

Random Wiki